That Foul Smell on the Waterfront

1 reply [Last post]
WolfLarsen's picture

That Foul Smell on the Waterfront
a short story by Wolf Larsen

(I worked as a longshoreman for 10 years. This story is based on an actual experience. There is one big difference between this story and reality: in reality the dialogue would contain four letter words in nearly every sentence.)

It was a pretty normal day. We were working a 12 hour shift in a 10° below zero F (25° below zero C) freezer hold in a cargo ship in the port of Dutch Harbor, Alaska. We were grabbing 40 pound boxes of frozen fish off the pallets and stacking them in rows up to the ceiling over our heads. It was 3 ton per hour per man minimum. The shipping company wanted the ships stored by hand to get a tighter stow, to get more cargo in the ships and make more money.

It was a normal day except something didn't smell right.
"What's with this smell?" asked the new guy.
"Wolf, did you fart again?" asked a fat guy laughing.
"No," said the new guy, "this ain't no fart. It's the fish we're loading. It doesn't smell right!"
"Oh that," responded the fat guy. "Yeah, smells like the fish has gone bad. Probably got defrosted one way or another."

There were about half-a-dozen of us working together on that hatch gang. We could talk as we worked because it didn't matter what we did above the neck as long as our bodies kept working.

"BUT AREN'T PEOPLE GOING TO GET SICK?!" blurted out the new guy.
"Yeah, probably..." said the fat guy sadly.
"WELL WE NEED TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT THEN!" practically yelled the new guy.

A co-worker nicknamed "Scotty" (who was actually from Wales) laughed at the new guy. His laughter seem to say "boy are you naïve!"
"I worked on fishing boats before this, I know when something's wrong with the fish. The people who eat this fish are gonna get sick!" exclaimed new guy.